There are various categories of cement used in building works for various purposes. Thus, it is important to understand the properties of each type of cement and their uses. There are commonly three types of cement used in general construction purposes i.e. Ordinary Portland Cement (43 Grade & 53 Grade), Portland Pozzolana Cement and Portland Slag Cement. 43 G and 53 G are two types of Ordinary Portland cement.

Ordinary Portland cement

OPC is manufactured by grinding together OPC Clinker (95 – 97%) along with gypsum (3-5%). Ordinary Portland Cement (OPC) is graded according to their compressive strength. The grade indicates the minimum compression strength (MPa or N/mm2) that the cement will attain after 28 days of setting.

Compression Strength

OPC 43 Grade cement attains minimum compression strength of 43 MPa in 28 days of setting as compared to OPC 53 which attains a strength of 53 MPa at the same time.

Initial Strength

OPC 53 Grade cement is used for fast-paced construction were initial strength is to be achieved rapidly. 53 Grade cement is fast setting as compared to 43-grade cement. 53 Grade attains a minimum strength of 27 MPa in 3 days as compared to only 23 MPa achieved by 43-grade cement.

Uses & Application

53 Grade OPC cement is recommended in all RCC structures like footing, column, beam and slabs, where ever initial and ultimate strength is the major structural requirement. 43 Grade OPC Cement is recommended for plastering, tiling, masonry works, Non-RCC structures, pathways etc. where initial days strength is not of prime importance.


53 grade cements are 2-3% costlier compared to 43 grade cement.

For more information watch this video

Share this
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *